Living on the Edge

edge garciaJerry Garcia’s line, “what a long, strange trip it’s been” in the classic “Truckin’” applies to my life as well. I’ve been living on the edge for most of my life, and continue to do so, at the finish line here on a beautiful island off the west coast of British Columbia (nope, not in Central America, but in Canada).

For me, living on the edge hasn’t involved extreme sports or dangerous occupations. It’s been a combination of my “be here now” approach combined with my overall lack of beliefs (that are the foundation for our “purpose and meaning” in life). I realized at an early age that this human experience was an illusion…. a temporary, ever-changing blur of perceptions coloured by our beliefs. I’ve existed apart from my Mind (out of my Mind), and have done my best to protect it from untruths and delusions, no matter how alluring and commonly accepted they may have been.

I’ve never thought of myself as special. Different, and probably eccentric, but not special. Contrary to common belief, we, Homo sapiens, are not special, but certainly different from our 8 million+ fellow species. I struggled to add actions and results that our species have brought to fruition for the benefit of species other than our own to this list, but were there any of significance, they would have been dwarfed by the ever-expanding negative, often destructive, impacts.

The construct of time is inescapable in our human experience. Drugs and deep meditation may alter our perception of time, but it continues to drift forward, into an imaginary Future, at the same hour by hour, day by day speed. Tick Tock……

It took the bulk of my life to make my way to Vancouver Island. I immigrated to edge uclulet signCanada in 1970 and have lived in both Manitoba and British Columbia (mostly B.C.). I’ve traveled a fair bit, and will probably not leave this beautiful paradise again. Ucluelet, one of the few small towns on the west coast of the island, entices visitors with their motto, “Explore life on the edge”. I’ve been there a number of times, and although it is breathtakingly beautiful, exploring, sure, but I wouldn’t want to actually live there.

But I have lived life on the edge no matter where I was at the time.

I’ve had no interest in creating and accumulating wealth. Somewhat ironically, I spent a number of years as a “financial planner”, but focused on farm estate planning rather than investments and wealth accumulation.

I learned the truth about fiat currency.  Here’s an excerpt from the linked article…  “The history of fiat money, to put it kindly, has been one of failure. In fact, EVERY fiat currency since the Romans first began the practice in the first century has ended in devaluation and eventual collapse, of not only the currency, but of the economy that housed the fiat currency as well.”

This also goes for the Federal Reserve, which is as federal as Federal Express.

As far as I can recall (it’s a little hazy in the mental file cabinets of the past), I’ve never balanced a check book in my entire life. Over the past 70 years, I’ve rarely had more than $10,000 saved and often had less than $1000 available. I don’t have a credit card or any debt. I continue to live a modest, “be here now” lifestyle.

I’ve never had a bucket list, but do have an extensive fuck it list.

We can keep adding to our Bucket List……. keep striving for what we think we need to have or accomplish, or be satisfied with what we already have and use the time we gain to enjoy it. Enjoy the video below. Enjoy what you already have. Smile and enjoy this moment in time. It is very special……..

fuck it list

Nickname is OK. E-mail is not published or required

